top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe 'why-novia' Team

Isabelle, International Office


Where did you study?

“At the Åbo Akademi University.”


What did you study?

“Political Sciences.”


Do you have a fun/specific story about Novia?

“When I graduated from university I was offered a five months’ work placement in England. I had applied for a placement in France and didn’t even know what I was supposed to work with in England, only that the University of Exeter would be my host. I had two days time to decide if I wanted the placement or not and as I didn’t have a job I said yes. The placement was in the International Office and thanks to that work experience I got my present job when I returned, even if I had never imagined I would work with anything like this. Another reason why I got the job, my boss told me later, was that I had worked as a cabin cleaner at the ferries between Turku and Stockholm during my studies. “That shows that you are not afraid of hard work”. So include also strange jobs in your CV, they can make a difference!”


What would you say to exchange students who are thinking about coming to Novia?

“Take the chance to see something totally different, experience four distinct seasons, a system of study that is far from traditional and a vibrant student life with many special traditions. Even the “official” party dress in Finland is different: a car mechanic’s overall in the color of one’s own university and faculty with lots of patches (that you collect at different events).”


What do you love about Novia?

“The familiar and friendly atmosphere, the feeling that everyone knows everyone.”

bottom of page