top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe 'why-novia' Team

Alexandra, 22, from Germany


Why did you choose Novia in Turku as university among others in the city?

“I chose Novia because it is a partner university of my home university, which means that I will get a Double Degree Bachelor in Novia and my home university. As well I heard about the great practical experiences that you can gain here. Especially in German universities we have very few practical projects where you can do “learning by doing”.”


What do you think about the courses in your faculty?

“So far I had marketing, project, tourism, finance and branding courses. They have all been very interesting. All courses are graded without any exams, but with Key Learning Notes, Project Plans, and other Team Assignments that have deadlines throughout the whole semester. I have also enjoyed the small course groups and the personal connection to the teachers.”


Are you satisfied with your course’s choices?

“Yes.”


What do you like about the Novia lifestyle?

“As I already mentioned, there are no real exams and the teachers enhance a very personal dialog between them and their students (e.g. You can call them by first name and pop into their office whenever you have a question). Also the university’s facilities and cafeteria are very nice”.


What will you say to a potential exchange student who wants to come to study at Novia?

“You should really take the chance. Get to know the northern side of Europe and take advantage of the great learning style at Novia.”


Do you have an anecdote to share about Novia to a potential exchange student?

“I am in my 5th semester, and for the first time in my studies I feel like I am actually learning something for my future work career. This takes a lot of weight from my shoulders, since I am constantly worrying about what I can contribute to the company I will be working in the future.”

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page