top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe 'why-novia' Team

Alejandro, 23, from Spain


Why did you choose Novia in Turku as university among others in the city?

“As an exchange student Novia was my only option of university in Finland. As a free mover student I chose Novia because of the good relation I had with the staff, the Swedish language, my friends at uni and the known teaching method.“


What do you think about the courses in your faculty?

“The courses themselves seem to be easy and ridiculous but my opinion about them is that they are meant for letting the students work more by their own, pushing themselves and doing a kind of self-learning process. Sometimes it can affect negatively to the whole group if some students don’t give the 100%. In other situations it is the professor who doesn’t provide enough material or explanations.”


Are you satisfied with your course’s choices?

“The only two courses that disappointed me were Financial and reporting and Financing and reporting. They didn’t meet my expectations with the theory and practice.”


What do you like about the Novia lifestyle?

“The lack of pressure is beneficial for me, since I’m not effective at all under pressure. ÅKA is also important for the fun of exchange students, since they organise parties and events for students.”


What will you say to a potential exchange student who wants to come to study at Novia?

“First of all, you will enjoy your whole Erasmus experience, since Novia staff worry about it. They know that it is special for you and they will try to fix and adapt everything that you need for making your Erasmus great, regarding your courses and student facilities.

Secondly, the tutors are amazing. Local students who take care of you from your arrival till your departure (as much as you wish), they meet with you, show you around and try to solve all your questions.

And finally, you will have a vast of free time to enjoy your Erasmus.”


Do you have an anecdote to share about Novia to a potential exchange student?

“My story with Novia started with my Erasmus 2018/19 and surprisingly it will end at the end of 2019. That’s why Novia allowed me to apply for a new semester as a free mover student so that I could stay living in Finland for longer. The staff helped me a lot with the registration and I was treated like a local student having the option to pick up courses in Swedish. I can only be thankful for that.”

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page